• Strona główna
  • Kontakt
  • Aktualności

Natura 2000

Natura 2000The Natura 2000 is an European ecological network for the protection of the natural heritages of the European Union countries.
The purpose of the creation of the Natura 2000 network is to preserve endangered habitats, species of plants and animals in Europe.

The legal basis for the Natura 2000 network is the Council Directive 79/409/EEC of 2 April 1979 on the conservation of wild birds and Council Directive 92/43/EEC of 21 May 1992 on the conservation of natural habitats, wild fauna and flora, which has been transposed into the Polish law by the Act of 16 April 2004 on Nature Conservation.

The Natura 2000 network includes two types of areas:

  • Special Protection Areas (SPAs),
  • Special Areas of Conservation (SACs).

Swamp Narew Valley SPA – PLB 200001

The site includes a section of the Narew Valley with a length of about 58 km and width from 300 m to 4 km, between Suraż and Żółtkami. From Suraż to Rzędziany the Valley has a natural character, periodically flooded by the Narew network of interconnected channels. This section is dominated by a rich mix of rushes, reed, sedge, willow and alder thickets habitats.
Inhabit in this Special Protection Area 28 species of birds listed in Annex I of the Birds Directive and 10 species present in the Polish Red Book of Animals. Here you can find the following species: little bittern, bittern, marsh harrier, snipe, Bluethroat, black tern, aquatic warbler, redshank, black-tailed godwit, snipe, marsh harrier, corncrake, fodder, Garganey, nightingale gray warbler, sedge warbler and reed warbler.

The Narew Marshes – PLH 200002

It covers the Narew valley between the city of Suraż and Rzędziany village. A characteristic feature of this area is the invasion of terrestrial ecosystems through aquatic ecosystems, resulting from the exceptionally rich network of river channels. This is the best preserved anastomosing type of rivers in Poland.
There are 9 types of habitats, listed in Annex I of the Habitats Directive, present in this area, the most valuable ones are the: oxbow lakes, bogs and swamp forests. Of the species listed in the Appendix II of the Habitats Directive, 11 inhabit the area, the: large coppers, false ringlets, Ukrainian lampreys, an eels, bitterlings, goats, asps, great crested newts, fire-bellied toads, beavers and otters.

Natura 2000Natura 2000